I’m finally getting around to showing you the pumpkins we carved (myself and my friend over at friendswithforeigners) for Hallowe’en.

Mine is now in the compost bin having collapsed in on itself, but it was pretty while it lasted.

{This is my owl pumpkin.  It’s hard to take a good picture of it lit up.  I found that if I stuck it in the closet with the camera propped up on a pile of stuff, then set the timer, quickly close the closet door, then the camera could catch the pumpkin in the dark without me shaking my hands and blurring the picture.  Win.}

{this is Lexy’s pumpkin.  She free-handed it.  I love the little pumpkin by the door.  Very meta.}

We saved the pumpkin seeds and roasted them in three different flavours: garlic, salt and pepper, and pumpkin pie spice.

{The three flavours.}

To roast the pumpkin seeds, we first washed them, and picked as much as the pumpkin pulp as we could.  Then we drained them and spread them out onto three pans – one for each flavour.

{The salt and pepper pumpkin seeds}

We melted some butter (a couple of tablespoons) and drizzled the seeds with it.  For the salt and pepper seeds, we simply sprinkled with salt and pepper and tossed to coat.  Meanwhile, the oven was heating up to about 375 degrees F.

{The garlic roasted pumpkin seeds.  My Prince Charming couldn’t stop eating them}

For the garlic pumpkin seeds, the recipe we found online said to use garlic salt.  We didn’t have any, so we figured chopping up garlic pretty fine would work just as well.  These were amazing.  The garlic was so flavourful, and not too potent.  We chopped up 2 cloves of garlic very finely, and tossed it in with the pumpkin seeds.  During the roasting, I would toss the seeds every 10 – 15 minutes to see how they were doing.  It was hard to remember not to mix the garlic pumpkin seed flipper with the sweet pumpkin seed flipper.

{The seeds being devoured}

The least popular of the pumpkin seeds were the sweet ones.  We used cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice and a bit of ginger.  We also tossed in a bit of turbinado sugar.  The sugar cooked too fast for the pumpkin seeds and as a result, they tasted a little burnt.  It wasn’t ideal, but they still were all eaten.  Next time I’ll leave out the sugar, or add it in the last 5 minutes of roasting.

All in all, a delicious fall afternoon of pumpkin carving and seed eating.

