The first wonder of San Francisco is the Golden Gate Bridge.

Perfect timing, since we were planning on driving over said bridge to go take in the warmth and beautiful hiking in Muir woods.  I popped my camera in my bag and off we went in our trusty zip car.  I find that driving over the bridge is beautiful, but can never be captured in pictures.  Once you cross the bridge (by car, by foot, or by bike), there are lots of good viewing places on the other side.

Of course, the bridge is best seen on bright sunny days, but realistically, we don’t have a giant number of those on days when I have enough time to head out to the bridge.  But that’s never stopped me before.  I’ve been there on foggy days, windy days, and rainy days.

Biking across is my favourite mode of transport so far.  On the weekends, they open up one side of the bridge for pedestrians and the other side for bicycles.  Peter doesn’t like going this way because he’s so tall and thinks that the rails are too low for him.  He is always telling me that one good gust of wind and he’d go over the side.  It doesn’t help that he’s scared of heights to being with.  I, however, love it.  It’s flat, and the views are incredible.  This picture is from the last time we headed across on two wheels.

One of my favourite things about the Golden Gate Bridge is that it pops up all over the city.  You’ll climb a hill, look North and BAM!  there she is poking out from the fog/houses/trees.

While the bridge itself is spectacular, and known world-wide, the most spectacular thing about it to me is what it leads to.  One way, it leads to adventures, new discoveries, and (usually) better weather.  The other way, it brings me home after a long day.

Do you have any particular memories or favourite things about the Golden Gate Bridge?

