A few weeks ago, we decided to try getting a CSA box every couple of weeks.  We wanted to see what kinds of veggies they would send our way and we wanted to see if we could figure out how to use the ones that we had never tried before (like collard greens!)

We got our first box on Wednesday.

What we got:

4 fugi apples

4 minneola tangelos

1 bunch of carrots

1 bunch of collard greens

1 bunch of green onions

1 bunch of red beets

1 bunch of lettuce

1 yellow onion

So far we’ve eaten half of the apples, three of the oranges, and all of the carrots.

I used the bunch of green onions in some cheddar onion buns (from Peter Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Every Day)  They were delicious.

Tonight I’m making a Roast Beet and Balsamic Quinoa salad to use the beets.  I’m generally a huge fan of both beets and quinoa, so I hope it’ll be delicious.  The only problem so far is the pearl onions!  Why oh why do they make my eyes hurt SO MUCH MORE than regular onions?  Something I learned: If you’re going to cut your pearl onions in half anyhow (which I was), if you do it before you peel them, it’s a lot easier to get off that super fine layer of onion skin.

So, now I’m left with the collard greens and the lettuce.  The apples, oranges and onion will take care of themselves since I like eating apples and oranges and I use onions all the time.

For the collard greens, I think I’ll turn them into a side dish for something.

But the bunch of lettuce?  I don’t eat lettuce straight up.  What should I do with it?  I can only eat so many salads.  I’ll use a bit in sandwiches, but …  I need help!  Any interesting suggestions for a bunch of lettuce?

