I was at the market on Wednesday and picked up a three pack of strawberries.  It’s that delicious time of year when all the fruit is coming in to the market and I can’t resist ANY of it.  (I also got peaches, apricots, nectarines and plums.  See what I mean?)

When I got home I was reading some of my favourite blogs and I found these two recipes over at Food in Jars and Sugar Crafter.

So I set about chopping up strawberries, putting them in jars (at 11:00 at night).  They sat there until tonight in a jar where they soaked in vanilla and sugar and turned delightfully juicy.  Peter even asked me how much water I’d added!  None – those were just some very juicy strawberries.

And then, oh and then.  I got to pick a lemon from my lemon tree!!!  I picked it up last year when we moved here in an effort to be more Californian and it keeps trying to grow fruit and failing.  But at last I’ve been able to harvest my first lemon.

Some zesting later, it was ready to add to the jam.

Lessons learned: I needed more jars, and a bigger pot.  Now I know for next time.  Also, I needed to cook the jam longer.  But – check out the end result!  It set and it tastes delicious.

Now I just have to wait for the scones to come out of the oven and I’ll have a delicious evening snack.

 

 

 

