At Pier 45, Shed A.

The Book tells me that there used to be a place called Playland at the Beach that was destroyed during a fire in the early 1970s.  I wish I’d been able to go to that – it sounds awesome.  Also, has anyone else noticed that San Francisco has had A LOT of fires?

Anyhow.  The Musee was moved from there to a storage place under the cliff house until someone made a great decision to move it out to where it is now – in the middle of Fisherman’s Wharf.  I’m so happy that it’s out of storage, but sad that it is out at Fisherman’s Wharf ’cause I don’t like going out there very much.  There are just too many people.  But this delightful collection of arcade games is certainly worth the trip.  I’ve been twice now.

Today, I took Peter out for a day of exploration under the pretense of going on a date.  We had such a good time.  I brought all of my quarters that I’d set aside for laundry and we played all the games that caught our attention.  Some were good, some were just fun, some were not so amazing.

We played an original Pong;  I had my fortune read by a grandma; I saw a crazy laughing girl; Peter looked at pictures of the fire.  Although there weren’t actually pictures of the fire here, just pictures of the city.

My favourite: a little baseball game that shot rubber balls down a slide and you tried to hit them and get your imaginary runners home.  I only got a guy to second.  With 15 balls.  It was hard, fun and addictive.  Everything I look for in a game.

So much hilarious stuff to be seen at the musee.

Also – did you know that pinball used to be illegal for minors to play?  I had no idea and find this hilarious.  NO!  Don’t flick those marbles around!  Stop!

This place made for an amazing date afternoon.  We tried to take pictures in the photo booth, but having turned our dollars into quarters we were disappointed to find out that it only took dollar bills.  Oh well.

