Set just down the road from the De Young museum and the California Academy of Science is this small, stunning garden.

It was founded by the caretaker Makoto Hagiwara until World War II.

Peter and I got up early this morning and headed over to the gardens.  One of the great things about them is that if you show up before 10 am on Monday, Wednesday or Friday it’s free to get in.  So we headed over with some books and grabbed a seat in the tea-house.  We sat around enjoying the scenery, reading our books, drinking some Genmaicha and eating some mochi.  It was a perfect way to start the day.

After the crowds had settled down a bit (the problem with it being free in the morning is that it’s rather busy at first), we wandered around.  It was Peter’s first time to the gardens, so it was fun for me going with him and seeing his experience of it.  He also gave me some tips about some photo composition, so I started trying to take some pictures from different angles than I normally would.  What do you think?

This is a wonder that I will go see again and again.  If you haven’t been, you should definitely go.

