No picture for this one because I’m planning on making it this week, but while I was thinking about it, I thought I had to share it because it’s one of the best meals I make.

It’s perfect for Peter and I with a few leftovers and not too spicy.  Just writing out the recipe made me hungry.

Originally from sugarcrafter, but I’ve cut the recipe in half and changed the spices a smidge.

3 slices of bacon

2 links of chorizo

1/4 onion, diced

1 clove of garlic, diced

1/2 green bell pepper, diced

1/2 Tbsp Chili powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp paprika

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp thyme

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

1 small tomato

1/4 c plain tomato sauce

1/2 c chicken broth

1/4 lb shrimp

1 1/2 c brown rice, cooked

1.  Chop the bacon into 1″ pieces.  Chop the sausage into 1/2″ pieces

2. In a large saucepan, saute bacon until almost crisp.  Add chorizo, onion, garlic and pepper.  Cook until softened.  Add spices, tomato, tomato sauce and broth.  Bring to a boil, reduce to simmer.  Cook until thickened about 45 minutes.  Stir occasionally.

3. Stir in shrimp and rice and cook until heated through.

NOMNOMNOMNOM

