I sat down this afternoon and wrote out and these fabulous weekly post-its everything that I have to do until I go home to San Francisco at Christmas.

If I can get through those 8 sticky notes, I will have made it through the first of five semesters of the Nursing program at UBC.

I can’t wait until the end of this week when I get to take that first one down, scrumple it up and recycle it.

Then soon, they will all be done and I’ll be with my Prince Charming for three whole weeks.

If I had done this when I started, there would be six more notes up there on the wall.  Which means that when I take down this week I will be half way through.

This has been the hardest thing that I have done so far with my life.  The previous hard thing was when I picked up and moved to Chad for three months to do my practicum.  But this, this.  It’s hard to explain the challenge it has been.  The drastic change in my life it created.  Before, I lived in a city where I knew so many great people, had my husband with me each day, got to make pottery, make food, make friends.  We travelled, I adventured.  I didn’t work.

Now, I’m in a city where most of the people I know don’t know me very well, and I’ve left my Prince Charming behind at home in SF.  I’m so fortunate to have met new friends and reconnected with old friends and family.  But you know how it is with new friends – there’s not that ease of the old friends who know your soul.  And the work!  Oh, the work.  Going from making pottery and volunteering a few hours a week to being in class twelve hours a week, plus two 8 hour days of clinical, plus 2 hours of lab equals 22 hours a week of intense learning.  Add on to that the MOUNTAINS of readings we have to do each week.  It makes for a busy schedule.  I have yet to feel like I’m living in Vancouver because I so rarely get out of my apartment to explore.  It has been a serious adjustment.  I have spent more hours crying than I would care to admit.  But it’s getting better.  Each day is a little easier than the last and before I know it, December will be here and I’ll have made it.  Made it to the point where I said if I was still as miserable as I was at the beginning I would quit.  But, I’m not quite ready to give up yet.  I’ve got to keep going.

So.  Here it is.  My 100th post of Fairy Tales of the City.  This new city has yet to make the fairy tale status, but this heroine is facing the fiercest dragon she’s ever faced.  Time to put on my helmet and armor, because I am tackling this beast.  Armed with love from all of you.

Wish me luck, some days  I need it more than others.

-a

