I feel like the city of Vancouver is trying to make it up to me for giving me such a rough start to my time here.

This autumn has been beautiful.  It has only rained a little bit and never for more than a few days in a row.  I keep expecting endless rain, wet feet, rain coats and umbrellas, but Vancouver has been sunny and crisp.

UBC doesn’t seem to spend much time raking leaves and as a result the colours have been piling up on the ground.  I frequently swish through the leaf piles and my heart sings a little.  Speaking of which, I had a great time playing in some leaves with one of my nieces this weekend.  Another advantage of being in Vancouver is how much more I’ve been seeing my family!

My big news this week is that I’m moving away from UBC!  Kits will soon be my new neighbourhood and I can’t wait to be closer to people I know and places to discover.  As a result, I need to use up my groceries in the next few weeks so I don’t have to move them.  The more I eat, the less I have to pack!

So, this autumn and move bring you today’s recipe: Autumn Squash Soup with ginger, carrots and apple

 

 

Ingredients:

1 butternut squash

1 Tbsp olive oil or left over bacon drippings

1 onion

2 cloves of garlic

2 carrots

3 Tbsp ginger

1 Apple

2 cups of broth

salt and pepper to taste

Start by taking a butternuts squash and cutting it in half.  Scoop out the seeds and stringy bits.  Don’t bother peeling it.  Put it face down on a tin-foil lined cookie sheet.  Stick it in the oven at 350 (I don’t bother preheating) and let it roast until it is dents in when you poke it with your oven mit.  About half an hour to 45 minutes

Heat up some oil or left-over bacon fat in a heavy bottomed saucepan (I had some leftover bacon drippings in my fridge that I’ve been meaning to use up).

While this is cooking, take an onion and chop it up.  Don’t be fussy about making it small.  A rough cut is fine.  Put it in the pot with the oil.

Chop up a couple of cloves of garlic.  Throw those in to the pot too.

Let that cook until softened.

Chop up a carrot (or two) and toss that in with the onions.

Grate about 3 Tbsp (or about 3 inches) of ginger.  Put that in the pot with the onions, garlic and carrots.  Add 1 – 2 cups of broth.

Let this simmer until the carrots are soft.

Peel and chop up an apple.  Put that in the saucepan

By now the squash should be done.  Take it out of the oven and scoop the flesh out of the skin into the pot with everything else.

TURN THE HEAT OFF!  (Let your soup cool down for a sec.  You’re going to blend it in the pot.  Splurts of boiling hot soup on your skin is a bad thing)

Now take an immersion blender and blend your soup.  Is it too thick?  Add some water or some more broth (I had run out of broth, so I added about 1 and a half cups of water.  Broth would have been tastier.)  Blend it to a texture and thickness that you like.

Now season with salt and pepper to taste.  I used some salt with some blended-in herbs de provence, and it was delicious!

Want to make it heartier?  I added half a cup of cooked quinoa to the soup after I blended it.  I like the texture and it adds some protein.

TADA!  Autumn soup.

 

